My sister’s London favourites

Hi,

Last weekend I had the visit of my sister in London – I love her visits which give me the opportunity to go back to some places I like & (re)discover other nice places.

The weather got much colder (we lost almost 10 degrees in a couple of days, whereas last week it felt like summer) – so we did a couple of stopovers during our walks in London to warm up in some cosy shops/eateries.

Here are a couple of places/things we enjoyed:

1. Abeno – I already mentioned this place in a previous post, and this place convinced my sister with the nice food cooked in front of us. My favourite place for Japanese food in London.

IMG_3332[1]

2. Camellia’s Tea house  in Carnaby Street – great place for cream tea (the best scones in London according to my sis) and an impressive range of green teas in a cosy décor.

3. Tatty Devine – another place I discovered with my sis, really cute jewellery. I fell for this “juicy” lime wedge to bring some color to my dark shirts.

Lime

4. East London Design Store – lots of cute things in this shop in Hackney, unfortunately last time I visited this was closed!

5. Orla Kiely and its lovely flower print. Beautiful furniture (although very expensive)

6. Sass & Belle another place for cute things in Covent Garden – I really like their collections of badgers & fox items.

Badger7. the exhibition “Ancient Lives” at the British Museum (£10): really impressive to see these mummies, and the exhibition is quite interactive. Really nice to go after you have walked around the ancient Egyptian collection.

8. Covent Garden Antique’s market (on Mondays) – covered market with lots of different objects (of different times): heirlooms, coins, clothes, jewellery, cameras…at very variable prices.

9. Irregular Shop on Camden high street – if you like excentric shoes, this is the place! Definitely not something I would choose to walk with, but also some cute accessories (I love the earrings!) Closed to Camden Lock Market.

earrings

10. Gill Wing Shop in Islington – the paradise for any cook! Good collection of coffee equipment (French press, caffetiere, filters…)

11. Pop Boutique in Soho – again, some vintage stuff, mainly fashion but you can also find fun accessories of from the 60s/70s.

12. Chinese Backery (Gerrard Str.) – and their cute cream-filled fish-shaped pastries. Also a great selection of bread rolls – identic to the ones I had eaten in Beijing. My sister loved the soft rice cake. Usually I go to Chinatown for some Asian supplies or when my boyfriend needs a haircut, so I can grab a 报纸 (baozhi) – so it was nice to break my habits!

IMG_3451[1]13. Paperchase – my sister and I love the nice stationery items we can find here in the UK (don’t feel like we have such nice supplies in France). the current “mercato” collection is really fun (especially the watermelons-shaped pockets) I could spend hours browsing through wish cards – I really like the fact that Brits stick to cards for holidays.

14. Spitafields Market  – nice gift shops, small eateries, good place to walk around to escape the rainy weather.

One thought on “My sister’s London favourites

Leave a Reply

