Fruity flapjacks

Hi,
Today I am sharing with you a really reasy but delicious snack recipe: my raisin flapjack.

I discovered flapjacks in the UK, as there are available in the most vending machines. But as I always want to avoid the preservatives and all the nasty things the food industry adds to the recipe, i decided to my owns 🙂 Moreover, it’s a great way to get rid of some oatmeal, if you’re a bit sick with your morning porridge!

I got inspired by the following recipe as it was my very first try – but I changed the recipe to fit what I had in my cupboard 😉

image

For this you will need:

  • 350gr oatmeal
  • 100gr unsalted butter
  • 3 tbps clear honey
  • 75gr caster sugar
  • 2 or 3 handful raisins
  • 1 pinch of salt

Start with the butter: cut it into small cubes and make it melt in a small milk pan on low fire. Add the honey and the sugar and stir well until you get a smooth texture.

image

In a metal bowl, pour the oatmeal. Add the “sweet butter” preparation and stir well to get a compact paste. Add a pinch of salt and the raisins and stir again. Spread the mixture on a buttered metal tin – with a thickness of approximately 1cm. Bake in the oven (180°C) for 25 minutes until golden brown, the flapjack should be a bit soft. Take the preparation out of the oven and cut the big flapjack into 5cm squares. Let them cool down.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Fruity flapjacks

      1. I have a brand I buy that is GF. Unfortunately, most are not gf due to processing contamination

Leave a Reply

