Half a year… in Finland

Hello!

This post is a retrospective of the semester I’ve been spending in Turku, Finland in 2010. I had the chance to study there for 6 months as part of my last year master degree. It was the first time I was living so far away from home (the region of Marseille, France): such a cold and snowy country for me!

Studying abroad is one of the best choices I made in my life. Not only for the fun and excitement to go abroad as a student, but also for the persons I met and the places I have been – where I would not have thought about some years ago.  Before I went there, I just had in mind a country with snow, bushy fir trees, reindeers and winter depression. I was fascinated by the lack of  knowledge we – Frenchies – have of this country, although it is a member of the EU since 1995 🙂

This was the view from my student room...
This was the view from my student room…

I definitely wanted to discover more of this country – and wasn’ t disappointed at all!

If I have to remember one thing it is the contrast between the seasons: the country (and its inhabitants) looks so different in winter and in spring. This is definitely the most enjoyable aspect of this country. (Re) discovering winter pleasures: walking in the snow, ice skating, cross-country skiing, sauna (of course!)… and enjoying even more the spring period: having a walk on a beach, watching boats, enjoying a smocked trout, sunbath in parks…

The only regret I have was not to learn the languages – Finnish and Swedish : Turku (Abo in Swedish) is a double language city as it is used to be the capital city when Finland was under Swedish domination. And to me, the language truly reflects the soul of a nation.

I hope I can turn back to this amazing country, this time to discover Lapland with my partner . Maybe we’ll get the chance to see an aurora borealis 🙂

Leave a Reply

